SSR Diversity Committee

Diversity Committee 

SSR is dedicated to building a strong and representative society that supports a diverse and inclusive membership. The Diversity Committee’s priority is to ensure that the voices of SSR members who self-identify as underrepresented are heard, from the speakers chosen to present at our annual meeting, to the composition of society leadership, and in the education of our society’s trainees. In order to facilitate these important components of inclusivity and support, the Diversity Committee serves as a nexus for resources for career advancement and training, financial support for attendance at our annual meeting, and as a resource for where issues of concern to underrepresented members of SSR can be raised for discussion. In partnership with the Women in Reproductive Science Subcommittee (WinRS), the Diversity Committee is committed to facilitating the diversification of the scientific workforce in the field of reproduction.


Burroughs Wellcome Travel Fellowships for Underrepresented Minority Trainees and Junior Faculty Travel fellowships available for underrepresented minority trainees and junior faculty to enable their participation in the SSR Annual Meetings. The fellowships include complementary meeting registration, up to USD $1,200 for housing, food, and travel expenses; and complimentary SSR Membership through the next calendar year. Learn more about the Burroughs Wellcome Travel Fellowship HERE

Burroughs Wellcome Fund Travel Awards Recipients 

2020 Burroughs Wellcome Fund Travel Awards Recipients


Fernando Mesquita, Federal University of Pampa, Brazil
Hilda Guerrero Netro, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico, Mexico
Omonseigho Talton, Avila University, USA


Crystal Roach, Iowa State University, USA
Alyssa Gonzalez, Dominican University of California, USA
Laetitia Lecante, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Canada
Daniela Reyes, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico
Ayana Henderson, Harvard Medical School, USA
Wendena Parkes, University of Kansas Medical Center, USA

2019 Burroughs Wellcome Fund Travel Awards Recipients 

Fernando Biase, Auburn University, USA
Angela Maria Gonella-Diaza, University of Florida, USA
Sharron Manuel, Northwestern University, USA

Ky’Era Actkins, Meharry Medical College, USA
Zully Contreras-Correa, Mississippi State University, USA
Carolina Gonzalez-Berrios, Auburn University, USA
Sophia Jean, Delaware State University, USA
Alejandra Ontiveros, Baylor College of Medicine, USA
Shally Wolf, Portland State University, USA

2018 Burroughs Wellcome Fund Travel Awards Recipients 

John Odhiambo, Florida A&M University, USA 

Berta Nieves Vazquez, Rutgers University, USA
Estela Jauregui, University of Arizona, USA
Khalda Fadlallah, Tuskegee University, USA
Sarah Munyoki, University of Pittsburgh, USA

2017 Burroughs Wellcome Fund Travel Awards Recipients 

Zelieann Craig, University of Arizona, USA
Kamilah Grant, Tuskegee University, USA

Ashley Lindo, West Virginia University, USA
Brittany Foster, Louisiana State University, USA  
Arlette Rwigemera, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique, Canada 
Diana Monsivais, Baylor College of Medicine, USA
Erica Pandolfi, University of California San Diego, USA
Lauren Mayo, University of Missouri, USA 


SSR members are encouraged to support and participate in activities designed and implemented by the Diversity Committee to expand diversity and inclusion in our scientific society. Meet with committee members and trainee representatives at the annual meeting’s booth to discuss your ideas on our committee’s activities and communication. Attend our sponsored Diversity Panel to hear diverse voices in science discussing their perspectives, career trajectory, and opinions that are important to shaping and advancing diversity and inclusion in our scientific community. All SSR members, trainee and faculty and staff alike, are welcome to attend the committee’s meeting when we convene at the annual meeting to discuss upcoming diversity events, participate in current discussions in expanding events and resources, and to meet the members of our committee. Consider volunteering to serve on the Diversity Committee to help in our efforts to make SSR a diverse and inclusive society.

2018 Diversity Luncheon Speaker
Clayton Yates, Professor, Tuskegee University

Diversity Committee Members  

Diversity Committee Members

  • Laura Schulz, Chair
  • Marc-Andre Sirard, Board Liaison
  • Brian Cherrington
  • Beth Sefton
  • Géraldine Delbès
  • Kanako Hayashi
  • Sarah Bacon
  • Heloisa Rutigliano
  • Paul Dyce
  • Kenneth Campbell
  • Pamela Monahan            
  • Diana Monsivais
  • Evdokia Dimitriadis
  • Klemnetina Fon Tracer
  • Angela Gonella
  • John Odhiambo
  • Jose Cibelli



2018 Diversity Luncheon
51st SSR Annual Meeting
New Orleans, LA 

2018 Burroughs Wellcome Fellows Recipients
SSR 51st Annual Meeting
New Orleans, LA  

2019 Burroughs Wellcome Travel Fellowship recipient Angela Gonella-Diaza, DMV., MSc., PhD., Assistant Professor, North Florida Research & Education Center, University of Florida

"I was the recipient of the Burroughs Wellcome in 2019. For me, as a new faculty, it was a great honor and a big opportunity. After finishing my Ph.D. and Post-Doctoral Research in Brazil, I start working at the University of Florida. The Burroughs Wellcome award allows me to assist to the SSR meeting for the first time and to contact and personally meet other members of the SSR’s diversity committee. Since then, I have been working with the committee to address new strategies to measure the diverse climate in our society."